Makeup Must Haves

Before I begin in telling you all the products that I need, I’m just going to state that these may not be the products for you. These are the items that work for me and I love but its a personal opinion and you may disagree (which is absolutely okay)

You may notice in this post that there are a lot of (If not all) Drugstore/high street products and not only is it because I simply do not have to money to venture into higher brands also the fact of when I started getting into makeup&beauty, which frankly was only about a year and a half ago, I wanted a good base of products that were from the drugstore and the plan was to save up and go a bit higher end. Although I have grown quite fond of some of the high street products ive discovered and will continue to purchase these specific ones for as long as they aren’t discontinued or i find something that works better for me.

Anyway lets get started…

It seems only fitting to begin with a primer before your makeup and I have not yet discovered one that works for me so if you have any suggestions please leave them down below (Im from the UK, But i will order if its highly recommended) Although after my skin care routine of a night using moisturizers and face washes I find my makeup goes on quite easily anyway and stays in place.

Foundation wise, I have tried and tested alot, and i mean alot, of foundations to find whats right for me and I finally found one thats right for my skin which is the Rimmel match perfection foundation. Honestly it is the best foundation ive found. I have quite a difference in my skin on my face as my forehead is dry but everywhere else in my face is pretty normal apart from under my eyes which tend to get oily. It goes on really nicely and looks like a second layer of skin, when applied with the right technique (Fingers or a beauty blender/real techniques complexion sponge, Im sure it will also go on with a brush but where Im from theres not alot of range of brushes in stores and the ones ive tried makes foundation sit on my skin, which is not a great appearance) This foundation stays on all day and doesn’t budge. The range has a fair choice of colour selections though its lightest shade is wayyyy to light for my skin but the one after is way to dark (and orange?) So I mix them together and it makes the perfect color match for my skin.

Moving on to concealer, I done alot of research on concealer because I inherited really dark under eye circles, So I needed something to really cover them up but not look cakey. I found a high street concealer that really covers up all the blue/purple tones under my eyes, The Maybelline Age Rewind Eraser Eye Concealer, Which is a miracle worker! It covers all the darkness below my eyes and still manages not to cake up my skin. Its the easiest concealer to use as you twist the top  and product comes out of the spongy tip and you just apply it straight from that. Another plus about it is as you twist it to get more product it pushes the product down the bottle (Which forces it up the little gap in the middle letting product through, So you can see how much you have left (Which more makeup products need to consider because its such a stressful time guessing how much product is left) The only downside to this concealer is it comes in two shades, both on my skin tone which are quite dark (I have pale skin :()  but I seem to make it work as afterwards I go in/ occasionally mix the Rimmel Wake Me Up Concealer to brighten under my eyes and make me look more awake, I never use this alone as it doesn’t have the coverage I need but mixed with other concealers its amazing.

Powder, I usually powder my face after ive finished concealer (Im going in an order of the stages I put my makeup on here) and again I use Rimmel and for this I use the Rimmel stay matte pressed powder, this sets your base like a dream, its one of the best powders out there and so many people rave about it and I am one of them. It has a good selection of shades including transparent. Also a little goes along way, putting to much on will give you a cakey look.

On to bronzer, one of my favorite things! As a personal preference I like more of a matte/ semi glowy bronzer& I hate glitter pretty much in anything but eye shadow, I just dont like the look it gives. So I spent alot of time trying to find the perfect bronzer for me and recently I found it and love it, its the L’Oreal glam bronze, I got mine in 00- Blonde Sun and it just gives you a really nice natural bronze and glow to the skin, It looks quite light and not like a bronzer when you see it (If that puts you off theres other shades) but it is darker than expected and its packaging is really sleek as it has a mirror and brush that comes with it.

Blush time! I wasn’t a massive fan of blush until I came across the Sleek blushes, They are so cheap and so pigmented! They have different types of blushes they have a normal powder blush or a cream to powder one (which I am yet to try) But they are so pretty! Honestly they could pass as a high end product. My favorite shade is Lifes a peach which is a really pretty coral pink tone. I just love them!

Highlighters, The one thing I  do not own!!! Ive looked hard for one but literally I cant find one, May have to go high end for that one, Ive heard the mac ones are really nice? So leave suggestions below for that, id really appreciate it.

Eyeshadow- I quite like my eyes to have quite a sutel natural look and ive really been loving the soap and glory lids on pallet for that. Its got quite warm tones in the quad of eye shadows which blend really nicely and look natural, I highly recommend it if your just starting out in makeup.

Eyeliner wise I love the soap and glory supercat black eyeliner pen, unlike some liquid eyeliners its easy to apply, super black and does not smudge at all it stays in place. Pencil eyeliners im struggling to find one that doesnt smudge since i put it in my top waterline, again suggestions please leave below.

Mascara, my favorite part of makeup, I have loved alot of mascaras but the one i reach for the most is the Maybelline lash sensational mascara , I am sure you’ve heard of it as its everywhere! But this mascara does everything you want a mascara to do, lengthens, separates&Volumises, A great all round mascara. Doesnt smudge which is another plus.

Now onto eyebrows, My brows are naturally quite filled in so I dont need to do much work on them so I just use the Maybelline brow drama sculpting mascara, It is really good and gets every hair coated. If you have to pencil in or draw your brows in its also a good setting product so your hairs stay in place all day.

Finally onto lips, I dont usually do much to my lips but if i do ill use the Maybelline baby lips in mint fresh, its a clear colour and moisturizes my lips really well and tastes amazing! When I want a lipstick though my go to one is the No 7 match made moisture drench lipstick in the shade Deep Rust,  The name of the colour put me off at first but its so beautiful on your lips and very hydrating and it wont move throughout the day.

So that concludes my Make up must haves, I apolagize for how long it is and thank you if your reading this it means alot this is my first blog post so its kinda special. Comment your makeup must haves below and ill be sure to check them out.

 Blonde Beauty Bomb

6 thoughts on “Makeup Must Haves

Leave a comment